:: home     :: about     :: contact
Monday، 18 October 2021
:: بخش فارسی
P News
The Steedman Fellowship

The Steedman Fellowship, granted since 1925, is awarded biannually on the basis of an International Design Competition. The Competition is supported by an endowment given to the Washington University College of Architecture in honor of James Harrison Steedman.

The Steedman Traveling Fellowship enables graduates of accredited professional degree programs in architecture around the world to travel for architectural research and study in foreign countries for a period of nine months. The 30.000 Dollars Fellowship is awarded to the winner of the Steedman International Design Competition. The award is based on the quality of the selected winner's competition design entry, but the quality of his/her research proposal is also considered.

Candidates must be graduates of an accredited school of architecture, and be currently employed in, or have completed at least one year of practical experience in the office of a practicing architect. Candidates are eligible to compete for up to eight years after receipt of their professional degrees, regardless of age. Citizens of all countries are eligible to compete for the Fellowship.

Competitors are to develop concepts for the adaptive reuse of an abandoned industrial building located on the Mississippi riverfront, just north of downtown St. Louis, MO and Eero Saarinen’s Gateway Arch. The building lies within an historic district currently undergoing redevelopment. Most of the buildings within the district are remnants St. Louis’ industrial past, specifically, here, that of power generation and cold storage for the river and railroad commerce of the early 20th century. With the exception of three historic facades, the 100.000 sf building is a blank slate for many uses, the choice of which will be left up to the competitor.

Entries will include a proposal for programming pointedly specific to the present moment and immediate future, while addressing the eventual re-use of the building. A comprehensive sustainable approach to the design will be required.

Registration Deadline 29 January 2008
Program Published 31 January 2008
Submission Deadline 13 March 2008
Jury meeting & Announcement of Award 31 March 2008

Jury Chair
Lawrence Scarpa, Principal, Pugh+Scarpa Architecture

Jury Members
Peter Davey, former editor of The Architectural Review
Hashim Sarkis, Architect and Planner, Beirut, Lebanon and Cambridge, USA
Nader Tehrani, Partner, Office dA, Boston USA
Ken Yeang, Principal Hamzah & Yeang Architects, Malaysia
Wilfried Wang, Hoidn Wang Architects, Berlin
O'Neil Ford Centennial Professor in Architecture at the University of Texas

Exhibition and Publicity
The winning entry, honorable mentions and selected short-listed examples will be exhibited in Givens Hall at the Graduate School of Architecture& Urban Design, Washington University in St. Louis in March and April 2008; the winning entry will also be displayed on the Steedman website with jury comments.


P Advertise